A. Canada Express Entry Federal Skilled Worker Program

A. Canada Express Entry Federal Skilled Worker Program

The Express Entry Federal Skilled Worker program is Canada’s system for selecting skilled workers based on their work experience and skills. Managed by IRCC, it’s an online platform where eligible candidates are placed in a pool for consideration. Those with the highest CRS points may receive an Invitation To Apply (ITA) for permanent residence in Canada.

The Federal Skilled Worker Point System

You need at least 67 points to be eligible to apply :

  • Your education;
  • Your abilities in English and/or French (Canada’s 2 official languages);
  • Your work experience;
  • Your age;
  • If you have arranged employment in Canada; and
  • Your adaptability.




The Federal Skilled Trades Program


The Federal Skilled Worker Program


The Canadian Experience Class

Eligibility Criteria for Canada Express Entry

The Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS)

The points you get from the CRS include a core set of points up to 600 and a set of additional points of up to 600. Your total score will be out of 1,200.

Core: Up to 600 points

  • Skills and experience factors
  • Spouses or common-law partner factors, such as their language skills and education
  • Skills transferability, including education and work experience

Additional: Up to 600 points

  • Canadian degrees, diplomas, or certificates
  • a valid job offer
  • a nomination from a province or territory
  • a brother or sister living in Canada who is a citizen or permanent resident
  • strong French language skills

Core points + Additional points = your total score

The Express Entry profile is valid for 12 months

Changes as of October 20, 2020

You can get additional points for good French skills. If you score NCLC 7 or higher on all four French language skills (listening, speaking, reading, and writing), you will get

  • 25 additional points if you scored CLB 4 or lower in English (or you have not had an English test); or
  • 50 additional points if you scored CLB 5 or higher on all four English skills

Note: This is in addition to the points you get for official languages.

Approved Language Testing

You must prove your language skills by taking an approved language test



You must get a minimum level of CLB 7 or NCLC 7 for 1 official language in all 4 language areas. To get points for the second official language, you must meet the minimum level of CLB 5 or NCLC 5 in all 4 language areas.

The Canadian Language test is valid for 2 years from the date of issue.

Educational Credential Assessment (ECA)?

Educational Credential Assessments (ECA) is an equivalency certificate for degrees and diplomas earned outside of Canada to meet the Canadian level of education. An ECA is required to apply for certain IRCC immigration programs. ECA is the recognition of foreign qualifications in Canada.

List of designated organizations to do ECA reports for immigration purposes

Comparative Education Service: University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies

International Credential Assessment Service of Canada

World Education

International Qualifications Assessment Service

International Credential Evaluation Service

Educational Credential Assessment for Specialist and Family Physicians

Medical Council of Canada

Educational Credential Assessment for Pharmacists

Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada

Your ECA is valid for five years from the date of issue, and you can continue using your ECA when you submit a new Express Entry profile.